Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
93

Falling Leaves and Shifting Values: A Season of Self-Reflection

Discovering equilibrium in a world tilted by adversity, while drawing connections between the challenges of COVID and the Israel-Palestine conflict.
93

Join me for a walk amidst the golden hues of autumn, a season that paints a picture of balance and beauty even in the midst of the chaos we encounter daily, especially online. The virtual realm bombards us with images of strife and suffering, tearing at the fragile fabric of our communities. Israel and Palestine, a conflict of enduring bitterness, has further fragmented our already-frayed social bonds.

Like so many, I, too, find it challenging to go online without encountering escalating scenes of war. Even at this distance, it exacts a toll on the psyche, leaving us with an overwhelming sense of powerlessness. Those harrowing images weigh heavily on my mind and soul, and I wonder if it is healthy to saturate ourselves with such a constant stream of global discord.

Yet, amidst this turmoil, I remind myself that while I may have little control over the events unfolding on foreign shores, I do possess the power to govern myself. I can choose the lens through which I view the world, the beliefs I uphold, and the assumptions I carry. In a world that often seems askew, we must remember that inner equilibrium remains within our grasp.

When the shadow of Covid descended, I stood as the mayor of my small town, a position that quickly earned me enemies. I refused to endorse double standards, a stance that would provoke ire. As I listened to the calls for unmasked individuals to be exiled to the curbside for their basic needs, I posed an unpopular but necessary question: Would we dare speak such words to a black person? To an indigenous soul? To someone from the LGBTQ community? To an elder?

Simply challenging a governor’s authority to force medical devices on every Californian’s face & the dangerous double standard it created

If the response was a resounding no, it forced us to confront the disconcerting presence of a double standard. I now find myself wrestling with those who advocate for medical freedom, especially for our children, striving to protect lives from unnecessary vaccinations. However, I'm perplexed by the inconsistency I witness when these principles no longer extend to the people of Palestine or Israel.

In times as tumultuous and knee-jerking as these, it becomes imperative to turn inwards and consult our inner compass. In a world filled with discord, we must seek balance within ourselves and reevaluate our beliefs, for only then can we hope to restore a measure of harmony to our ailing communities.

THANK YOU

Heading into winter is always an opportune moment for reflection. I find myself so grateful and appreciative for each and every one of you. Your support has not only brought us together as a community but has also enriched our collective understanding of the world we live in and the challenges we face. Your comments — the contributions, resources, and experiences — have provided invaluable insights and have made our journey all the more meaningful.

To express my heartfelt appreciation, I want to extend a special invitation to my cherished paid subscribers and invite you to join me 6-8pm PST, Tuesday, November 21st for another Clearing The Air online coversation. Bring up any topic, share your thoughts, and let’s clear the air!

If you are not a paid subscriber, but have been thinking about it, now is the time so you can join us for Clear the Air.

24 hours before the online event, I will send out a personal link to all my paid subscribers to ensure you can enjoy this unique experience. It's my way of saying thank you for being a part of the Foghorn Express.

Tip Jar!

If you find these interviews and articles informative, please become a paid subscriber for under 17¢ a day. I don’t believe in paywalls, but this is how I make a living, so any support is appreciated. Either way…. it’s available to you….

Reinette Senum's Foghorn Express is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.



93 Comments
Reinette Senum's Foghorn Express
Reinette Senum's Foghorn Express